Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme
Member Access
Media / News

The FMX Awards 2011

11/04/12 - 13:46

The worldwide FMX scene voted Javier Villegas as the Best International FMX Rider in 2011. The FMX athlete from Chile won the NIGHT of the JUMPs / FIM Freestyle MX World Championship series last year and reached 64% of all votes. Spaniard Dany Torres made it on top of the Euro riders and won in the category “Best European FMX Rider.

For the 3rd time in a row Robbie Maddison has been crowned as “Best Australian FMX Rider”. Users choice for “Best American FMX Rider” felt to X-Games Champion Nate Adams. Taka Higashino became “Best Asian FMX Rider” for the 2nd time.

Marcelo Simoes won the category “Best Brazilian FMX Rider”, German FMX Champion Hannes Ackermann has been voted as “Best German FMX Rider”. His younger brother Luc Ackermann, World Record holder of the youngest Backflip on a motorcycle, is once again German FMX Rookie of the year.

NIGHT of the JUMPs newcomer Maikel Melero made it on top of two categories. The Spanish rider is International and European Rookie of the year.

The users choice for the best FMX Event/Series felt to the Red Bull X-Fighters followed by the X Games and the NIGHT of the JUMPs. Best FMX Bike 2011 was once again the Yamaha YZ 250. Finally Kyle Lozas bikeflip attempt won the Best Trick Innovation.

The FMX Awards were established in 2006 by Berlinièros Sports Agency to honor the world's best Freestyle Motocross riders. Annually it awards FMX competitors who have been outstanding during the previous year.

Here you find all categories and the winners of 2011:


Best International FMX RiderJavier Villegas (CHL)
Best European FMX Rider Dany Torres (ESP) 
Best American FMX Rider Nate Adams (USA)
Best Australian FMX Rider Robbie Maddison (AUS)
Best African FMX RiderAlastair Sayer (BOT)
Best Asian FMX Rider Taka Higashino (JAP)
Best German FMX Rider Hannes Ackermann GER)
Best Brazilian FMX Rider Marcelo Simoes (BRA)
Best International FMX RookieMaikel Melero (ESP)
Best European FMX Rookie Maikel Melero (ESP)   
Best German FMX Rookie Luc Ackermann (GER)
Best FMX Series / EventX-Fighters
Best FMX Bike  Yamaha YZ 250
Best Trick InnovationBikeflip (Attempt) / Kyle Loza (USA)



> Back to list