Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme
Member Access
Media / News

The Flying Dutchman joins the party

23/01/13 - 17:06

Holland’s Rene Stellingwerf has been confirmed by FIM as the Permanent Wild Card for this year’s FIM Ice Speedway Gladiators World Championship Finals. Stellingwerf narrowly failed to qualify from the recent Challenge meeting in Sweden but merits his nomination through his current fine form in domestic meetings and Swedish League.

He is currently the Netherlands’ number one and will have an extra personal reason for wanting success this year as a tribute to his long term friend and mentor Tjitte Bootsma who died in November last year.  

Stellingwerf joins the 7 qualifiers from the Challenge Round and the 7 riders nominated by virtue of their performance in the 2012 competition. At each event there will be a local Wild Card and the 16 riders will compete in a total of 5 rounds, each over two days.

Qualified Riders for the 2013 Final Series

Riding N°NameCountry
1Daniil IvanovRussia
2Dmitry KhomitsevitchRussia
3Dmitry KoltakovRussia
4Harald SimonAustria
5Antti AakkoFinland
6Robert HendersonSweden
7Grzegorz KnappPoland
8Franz ZornAustria
9Eduard KrysovRussia
10Vitaly KhomitsevichRussia
11Pavel ChaikaRussia
12Günther BauerGermany
13Stefan SvenssonSweden
14Stefan PletschacherGermany
15René StellingwerfThe Netherlands
16Event Wild CardTBA
17Track Reserve 1TBA
18Track Reserve 2TBA


Qualified Substitutes for the series have also been confirmed. The will be used to replace any of the top riders should they withdraw through injury or other reason. Qualified Substitutes are:

Riding N°NameCountry
19Jan KlatovskyCzech Republic
20Per-Anders LindströmSweden
21Tomi TaniFinland
22Max NiedermaierGermany
23Antonin KlatovskyCzech Republic
24Fredrik OlssonSweden


The Finals commence in Krasnogorsk, Russia on 2nd and 3rd March and the draw will be made by FIM shortly. Full details will be announced here as soon as they are known.

> Back to list